experiments in cooking

Freezing My Zucchini

I did very little of what I’d call “real” cooking this week. For example, last night we had salad (red leaf lettuce, torn into bite-size pieces by yours truly) and Digiorno Flatbread pepperoni pizza, along with peas for the boys (which they did not eat), a banana for Neeley, and apple sauce for Jonah. Neeley was very upset about the pepperoni being spicy. He spat it out, then was yelling at me,  hopping up and down in his booster seat, and pointing at his tongue, and I was saying, “Take a drink! Take a drink!” But he wouldn’t listen to me … after all, I don’t know anything.

But back to the subject at hand. While the pizza was baking, I decided to grate the zucchini that has been sitting on my countertop since Monday. I decided against baking the chocolate zucchini cake I’ve had in mind (recipe courtesy of friend Abby) because I wouldn’t have the opportunity to serve it to any guests this weekend. Instead, I planned to grate and freeze the zucchini. I did a little research online and decided to just squeeze out all the water I could and freeze the zucchini without any blanching or added salt. I hope to use the zucchini within a few weeks and I don’t expect it to lose much of its baking value in a short time.

The grating went easier this time although I wasted several minutes trying to grate it using my mini food processor. I ended up throwing the food processor in the trash can–its days of usefulness are over–and I went back to the old-school grater. This time I did not peel the zucchini. I did have to pick out an awful lot of seeds, however.

Looking forward to making that chocolate zucchini cake! In which I intend to use NO apple sauce. I need to see what it tastes like without any risky substitution.

Comments on: "Freezing My Zucchini" (3)

  1. last year I froze a ton of zucchini…. 6 months later it was still sitting at the bottom of the deep freezer. Sure hope you are better about making use of your frozen goods. I think it is that out of sight out of mind thing with me. I do have a ROCKIN’ chocolate zucchini cake recipe though, love, love, love that stuff!

    • I put the zucchini in the freezer door where I’m more likely to see it. I have an awful lot of stuff crammed in those tiny door shelves–all of it put there so it will be seen. Because if anything makes its way into the deep freeze, it will be lost forever! Sarah

  2. Our zucchini never made it out of the garden this year. I had plans for trying some zucchini bread for the first time, but guess that will have to wait.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

