experiments in cooking

Five-Minute Mug Cake

Several months ago I posted a recipe for a mini-cake that can be baked in a mug in the microwave, and I finally tried making it a couple of weeks ago.

I had a craving for chocolate cake one weeknight after work, so I mixed it up while fixing a quick supper for the fam, using one of my larger mugs.

The cake was easy to make, but when I popped it out of the mug, it was not nearly as pretty as I’d envisioned. So I sliced the cylinder of cake into single-portion size slices and drenched each with homemade chocolate icing.

This  was a fun and easy experiment, but I don’t know that I’ll make it again, since the cake turned out a little heavy for my taste. Plus, the 8-inch Joy of Cooking dairy-free chocolate cake I’ve made before doesn’t take much longer to make and tastes 10 times as good.

image

Comments on: "Five-Minute Mug Cake" (1)

  1. How funny! I just came home from visiting a friend from church and she sent me home with a mug-o-cake! I would have made one after reading your post but, now I don’t need to 😀 I have one waiting for me on the counter. What are the odds of that ever happening again?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

